TMBRA - Rider Board

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Riding performance on flat terrain

Post new topic   Reply to topic    TMBRA - Rider Board Forum Index -> Ask the Bike Doc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anonymous

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:47 pm GMT +0000    Post subject: Riding performance on flat terrain Reply with quote

Hello Bike Doc, or any racer willing to provide his/her insights:

I've been riding for over 25 years but only started racing this season and attended a few events. I've noticed something consistently over the competitive rides these past few months: my flat riding speed is not nearly as good as my climbing speed. Some basics:
- 6'2 tall, 170 lbs
- riding a 30 lbs hardtail (will upgrade next year & hope to cut ~10lbs)

My common sense tells me: should I not be faster on flat than on climbs given these metrics? I am seeing the exact opposite. Last week I went for a road ride, two guys pass me a lot faster on the flat, I accelerate and stick to their wheels until the climb, then both decelerate and one of the two "implodes" half way through. Exact same phenomenon on the road (this time with a good road bike though), I am a lot faster and comfortable on climbs.

Could this be the position on the bike? My MTB is a 19' and feels slightly small (but only slightly), same for road bike. Could it be some weak muscles I need to work on? I know my upper body isn't nearly as strong as my legs but not sure how this would impact the flat riding performance more than climbing.

Anyways, if anybody has encountered a similar phenomenon I'd like to hear about your experience and what one can do to improve flat riding speed.

Thanks,
Nick
strohls freely
100+

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:14 pm GMT +0000    Post subject: Reply with quote